Twice Battered Paleo Chicken Fried Steak

Although I’ve never been a french fry fanatic, I love fried foods as much as the next American.  My grandmother is just about the most amazing cook I know (better than Paula Dean but just as adorable!) and she passed everything she knows down to my mom who is second to none!   Out of every southern-fried amazing dish my mom makes, my favorite is her fried chicken.  I can remember asking almost every birthday for fried chicken and mashed potatoes. So of course as I was making this dish, I immediately thought of her.  The thick batter is honestly what MAKES the chicken or anything fried to me.  I made a TON of these and they were perfect for quick zero-time protein leftovers.  I need a lot of those with a big strong man around! :)  We ate these with some steamed carrots rustica from Trader Joe’s.

Twice Battered Paleo Chicken Fried Steaks

8 cube steaks or grass-fed ground beef formed into thin patties
8 eggs, slightly beaten
1/2 cup Almond Milk
2 cups Almond Meal
1/2 cup Coconut Flour
1 tsp Garlic Powder
1 tsp sea salt (optional)
pepper to taste
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup olive oil

Beat the eggs and milk in one container.  Mix dry ingredient in another container.  Dip each steak into the egg mixture and then into the dry ingredients.  Repeat a second time.  In the meantime, heat coconut oil and olive oil in a skillet on medium high heat.  (I like the taste and effect of using both oils but either/or is fine)  Place each steak in the skillet and fry until brown on one side. Flip and repeat the browning on other side.  You may need to add extra oil along the way.  The key to a good frying is a plenty of oil in the pan.  Enjoy! 

The batter ingredientsCoconut oil and olive oilbattering each steakFrying!

Sawyer loves beef!We had this with carrots rustica..mmm!

3 Comments

Filed under Beef, Dinner, Lunch, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Twice Battered Paleo Chicken Fried Steak

  1. Daphne Blake

    Perfection!

Leave a Reply

